Orchids Logo
Orchids LogocloseIcon

Enquire Now
Learn More

List of Important Awards in India


Prakriti Dhodare





null mins read

Every kid deserves appreciation when they do something good. It helps them to build their confidence. When a kid does something good, parents appreciate them with a bar of chocolate or anything they like. Every individual looks for appreciation whenever they push their limit doing something. Similarly, kids too look for the same. Don’t you think every kid must know about higher authority awards too? Does it not push them to a higher level? But first, they should understand the awards and how they can get them. In this article, kids will learn about the Important awards in India and the way to get the award.

What is an Award?

Awards refer to a prize that indicates you’ve done well and achieved an honor. To distribute it, the government conducts a ceremony known as an award ceremony.

An awards ceremony aims to make people feel like their work is appreciated. It shows consent and gratitude for every individual’s satisfactory job and aware people that good work will be rewarded. It shows people, such as the general public and other staff members, that you’re aware of outstanding accomplishments.

How Many Types of Awards Are in India?

Awards in India are categorized into two main categories. Here you will find the list of awards given by the government of India. Apart from two main categories, the government distributes several different types of awards, including police, literature, sports, etc.

List of Awards in India

Awards in India

1) List of Civilian Awards

Civilian awards were established in 1954. These are conferred to people with outstanding achievements in their field of work. The President of India presents these awards to the recipients on Republic Day.

• Bharat Ratna

This award is conferred for achievements in science, literature, the arts, and public service. It is the most elevated civilian award in India. Sports were also included in this award category in 2013.

• Padma Vibhushan

The Padma Vibushan is India’s second-highest civilian honour. 

This honour is given to those who have made influential contributions to the field of the arts, literature, sciences, and public service.

• Padma Bhushan

India’s third highest civilian honour is bestowed on individuals who have distinguished themselves through service in any field, including medicine and science, but not on those working for government organizations. 

• Padma Shri

The fourth-highest civilian award is the Padma Shri. This honour is given to individuals for accomplishments in various fields, including government service.

2) List of Gallantry Awards 

Gallantry awards were instituted in 1950 by the government of India. These are announced twice a year, one on the occasion of Republic Day and the second on the occasion of Independence Day. Here is the list of gallantry awards in the order of precedence:

• Param Vir Chakra 

The Param Vir Chakra is the highest military award in India. It is awarded for national bravery in the presence of the enemy.

• Ashoka Chakra

The Ashok Chakra Award was founded in 1952 and renamed in 1967 to recognize the most conspicuous act of bravery, the act of daring, or the preeminent act of courage and self-sacrifice performed in the absence of an enemy.

• Mahavir Chakra

Maha Vir Chakra is the second-highest military award in India, after the Param Vir Chakra. It is awarded for actions of distinguished gallantry in the presence of an enemy, even on land, at sea, or in the air.

• Kirti Chakra

The Kirti Chakra award for gallantry was instituted in 1952 as Ashoka Chakra Class II. Later, on January 27, 1967, it was renamed Kirti Chakra. It was last awarded in 2019.

• Vir Chakra

The Vir Chakra is a wartime military bravery award in India. It is presented for acts of noticeable gallantry on the battlefield in the presence of the enemy. 

• Shaurya Chakra

The Shaurya Chakra is an Indian military honor awarded for gallantry, bravery, or self-sacrifice while not engaged in direct combat with the enemy. It may be awarded to civilians and military personnel, sometimes posthumously.

3) List of Literature Awards

Literary awards are conferred on authors and poets for good writing and their associated contributions towards improving Indian literature. It includes works of literature in any officially recognised Indian language, including English. It was instituted in 1961; however, the first award was given in 1965.

  1. Jnanpith Award
  2. Sahitya Akademi Fellowship
  3. Sahitya Akademi Awards
  4. Vyas Samman
  5. The Hindu Literary Prize
  6. Yuva Puraskar
  7. Saraswati Samman
  8. Mahapandit Rahul Sankritayan Award
  9. Rabindra Puraskar
  10. Kabir Samman
  11. Sahitya Gaurav Puraskar
  12. Kerala Sahitya Akademi Award

4) List of Sports and Adventure Awards

The National Sports Awards are the collective name given to the six sports awards of the Republic of India. It was first awarded in 1956–1957. It is awarded yearly by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports. They are given by the President of India in the same ceremony, usually on August 29, at the Presidential Palace.

  1. Maulana Abdul Kalam Azad Trophy
  2. Arjuna Award
  3. Dronacharya Award
  4. Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna
  5. Dhyan Chand Award
  6. Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar

5) List of Cinema Awards

  1. Dada Saheb Phalke Award
  2. Swarna Kamal (Golden Lotus Award)
  3. Rajat Kamal (Silver Lotus Award)

6) List of Police Awards

  1. President Police Medal for Gallantry (PPMG)
  2. Police Medal for Gallantry (PMG)
  3. President’s Police Medal for Meritorious Service (PPMS)
  4. President’s Police Medal for Distinguished Service (PPMDS)

Frequently Asked Questions

1) Which is the Highest Civilian Award in India?

Answer: Bharat Ratna is the highest civilian award in India. It was instituted in 1954 by the government of India.

2) Which is the Highest Sports Award in India?

Answer: Khel Ratna is the most elevated sports award in India. It was founded in 1991–92 as the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award before being renamed Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award in 2021.

3) What is the Gallantry Award?

Answer: The Government of India institutes gallantry awards. It is to honour the actions of bravery and sacrifice of the officers or personnel of the Armed Forces and other legally constituted forces and civilians. Gallantry awards are declared twice a year. The first declaration is on Republic Day (26 January), and the second is on Independence Day (15 August).

Also Read…

World Leaders of Indian Origin

Indian and Foreign Currencies

Indian Heritage

Subscribe to our newsletter

Be the first to know about releases and industry news and insights.


| K12 Techno Services ®

ORCHIDS - The International School | Terms | Privacy Policy | Cancellation