Indian National Flag | History and Evolution of National Flag - ORCHIDS
Job Alert : To view our Careers Page Click Here X
(+91) 8-888-888-999

History of the Indian National Flag

History of the Indian National Flag

Kids are an extraordinary blessing for any nation. They are the greatest gift to humanity. Children are exposed to religions from an early age. Have you ever observed that apart from different religions, castes, and creeds, there is one religion we all follow? That is the nationality “Indian.” The word “patriotism” is not just a word; it is a feeling for every individual in India. We must tell our children about the national flag of India and its value. In this article, you will get important information about the national flag of India.

What is the National Flag?

Indian National Flag

The national flag is a tricolour or Tiranga (national flag name) adopted on July 22, 1947. It has three colours: saffron in the first, white in the second place, and green in the last of the flag. They are divided in equal proportions horizontally. In the centre is a navy-blue wheel with 24 equally spaced spokes, representing the Ashoka Chakra. 

What is the Importance of the National Flag?

The Indian National Flag represents the dreams and hopes of every individual in India. It shows the symbol of our national pride and independence. Over the decades, many people, including the Indian armed forces, have lost their lives to keep the national flag flying in all its glory.

History of the National Flag

History of Indian National Flag

The first national flag of India was unofficial and was hoisted in 1906. Later, five designs of India’s national flag were changed. The current Indian national flag has three colours: saffron, white, and green, and it comprises Ashoka chakra in the middle of the flag.

Evolution of the National Flag of India

  1. India’s first unofficial national flag was hoisted in Parsee Bagan Square, situated in Kolkata, on August 7, 1906. The flag was composed of three horizontal red, yellow, and green stripes.
  1. Madame Cama and her exiled revolutionaries hoisted the second flag in Paris in 1907. This flag was similar to the first one except for the top stripe. The first stripe colour is saffron instead of red in the second flag. This flag was also exhibited at a socialist conference in Berlin.
  1. Throughout the Home Rule Movement, the third Indian flag was hoisted by Dr Annie Besant and Lokmanya Bal Gangadhar Tilak in 1917. This flag had red and green stripes with the Union Jack flag inserted on the top of the flag.
  1. The Congress party did not officially adopt the fourth flag, which remained unofficial. Congressman Pingali Venkayya from Masulipatnam came up with the idea of the tricolour. Mahatma Gandhi liked this idea, but nothing was there in design to stir the nation to its depths. Later, Lala Hansraj suggested that the flag’s centrepiece be the charkha, or spinning wheel, which Gandhi asked to incorporate into Venkayya’s design. This flag’s three colours are unique: red represents Hindus, green represents Muslims, and white represents peace and all other faiths in India.
  1. In 1931, the fifth iteration of the flag was accepted by the Indian National Congress. The red colour was replaced by saffron on the top, the green colour was placed at the bottom of the flag, and the white colour was placed in the middle. The spinning wheel (Charkha) was kept in the middle of a white band in the flag.
  1. The existing Indian flag officially came into being on July 22, 1947. When Prime Minister Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru conducted a Flag Committee headed by Dr Rajendra Prasad, this idea arrived to Congress leaders after. The Ashoka Chakra replaced the spinning wheel to ensure that the flag must not recognise just the Congress party flag.

How many colours are there in our National Flag, and what do the Three Colours of the National Flag represent?

In the Indian national flag, there are three colours in the flag, and the meaning of national flag colour represented by the top band is saffron, indicating the strength and courage of the country. The white middle bar with the Dharma Chakra indicates peace and truth. The last bar is green, showing the land’s fertility, growth, and auspiciousness.

National Flag Hoisting Rules

As per the Indian government rule of January 26, 2002, On all days or occasions, any person, organization, the private or public, or educational institution may hoist or display the national flag, following the pride and honour of the national flag.

In 2002, the national flag code of India was altered on December 30, 2021. The National Flag of India made of polyester or machine-made Flag has been allowed. Currently, the Flag must be hand-spun, and hand-woven cotton, polyester, or wool, or machine-made cotton, polyester, wool, or silk khadi national flag is also approved. 

How to Fold the National Flag?

The correct ways to fold the national flag of India are:

  1. Set the Indian national flag horizontally.
  2. Always fold the saffron and green bands underneath the white bar.
  3. Fold the white bar from both sides, so only the Ashoka Chakra will be visible with hints of the saffron and green bars.
  4. Carry the folded flag in your arms or palms to keep it in a safe place.

How to Dispose of the National Flag?

As per government rules, if the Flag is in a damaged condition, it shall be destroyed in private, ideally by burning or any other method consistent with the Flag’s dignity.

Frequently Asked Questions

1) Who Designed the First Indian National Flag?

Answer: The design of the first flag of India was presented and created by Pingali Venkayya in 1921 to Mahatma Gandhi, leader of the All-India Congress. It contains colours related to the two principal religions, red for Hindus and green for Muslims.

2) Who Designed the Current National Flag of India?

Answer: Congressman Pingali Venkayya designed the current Indian national flag from Masulipatnam in 1921.

3) Which is the Indian National Flag Manufacturing Place?

Answer: The only authorised Indian National Flag Manufacturing Place Karnataka Khadi Gramodyoga Samyukta Sangha (KKGSS). It is a manufacturing federation located in Garag village near Dharwad City. It is headquartered in Bengeri of Hubli City in Dharwad district, Karnataka, India.

4) What is the National Flag-Lowering Time?

Answer: The Indian National Flag shall be flown from sunrise to sunset, disregarding weather conditions. The flag must also be flown on a building at night, but this should be done only on special occasions.

5) How Many Spokes in the National Flag of India?

Answer: In the centre of the Indian national flag, the white band consists of an Ashoka chakra of navy-blue colour. The wheel contains a total of 24 spokes.

Also Read…

National Symbols of India with Names

List of Rivers in India

Historical Monuments of India

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Subscribe to our Newsletter