List of Union Territories of India - Orchids
Job Alert : To view our Careers Page Click Here X
(+91) 8-888-888-999

Union Territories of India

Union Territories of India

Do you know that the Indian constitution is the world’s largest written constitution, containing 12 schedules, 25 parts and 448 Articles? In Articles 239 to 241, the provisions for the Union Territories of India are mentioned. Did you find it interesting? When we learn something about other countries, we appreciate them. Still, when we hear something about our country, whether good or bad, it always gives us goosebumps. It is a way of showing love towards our country. Kids also follow the things which they see in their surroundings. Parents and teachers must tell them about the country’s importance and achievements early. In this article, you will learn about India’s Union Territories.

What is a Union Territory?

The constitution is a legal document that depicts the Fundamental Rights and duties of the citizen of India. In this large constitution, Dr BR Ambedkar, the author of the Indian Constitution, mentioned provisions for the Union Territories of India.

The states of India have their governments; Union Territories are the federal regions administered by the Union Government of India. In Union Territories, the Central Government appoints the Lieutenant Governor, the administrator and the representative of the President of India.

Puducherry and Delhi have an Elected Legislature and Government as an exception. They were given partial statehood under the specific Constitutional Amendment.

9 Union Territories of India

Names of the Union Territories of India

Presently, there will be eight Union Territories in India in 2022. Here are the names of the Union Territories of India.

  • Delhi
  • Andaman & Nicobar
  • Chandigarh
  • Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu
  • Jammu & Kashmir
  • Ladakh
  • Lakshadweep
  • Puducherry

Differences Between a State and a Union Territory in India


  • A state has a separate government which is a constituent division. States have their own elected government conferred the powers to frame the laws. 
  • The legislative and executive powers are distributed in states, which appreciate a federal relationship with the central government.
  • The Constitutional Head of the state is said to be a Governor.
  • The chief minister elected by the individuals administers the state.
  • States are much larger than Union Territories.

Union Territory

  • A union territory is said to be a small administrative unit ruled by the union. The Central Government of India Administers and controls the Union Territories.
  • Union territories have unitary relationships with the central government, which means all the legislative and executive powers rest with the Union.
  • The Executive Head of the union territory is the President of India.
  • The union territory is appointed by an administrator who the President sets.
  • Union territories are much smaller when compared to the states.

List of Union Territories of India and their capitals in India

Union Territory


Andaman and Nicobar Islands

Port Blair







Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman & Diu


Jammu & Kashmir

Summer – Srinagar 

Winter – Jammu

National Capital Territory of Delhi



Winter – Skardu

Summer – Leh

Which Part of the Indian Constitution Deals with Union Territories?

In part VIII of the Indian Constitution, Articles 239 to 241 deal with the Union Territories. The administrative system is not uniform—Article 239 provides for the Administration of Union Territories directly by the President via the Administrators.

Why is India Divided into States and Union Territories?

Union Territories have a slighter population and land size than a state. Due to being small and independent, they are administered by Union Government. Here are the reasons union territories and states are divided-

The Union Territories have a distinct culture from their surrounding states. Earlier, they were under the rule of the French (Puducherry) and Portuguese (Daman and Diu). Therefore, these Union Territories cannot be merged with the surrounding states. 

However, Delhi is known as the administrative capital of India, and Chandigarh is the administrative capital of both Punjab and Haryana. 

Andaman & Nicobar and Lakshadweep islands are located far from the landmass of India. Thus, they are strategically essential to India, and the Indian government can directly act there in any emergency.


There are different states and Union Territories in India, divided into eight Union Territories and 28 states. Indians speak 22 languages. Our country is very colourful, which shows its colours through traditions and cultures. To be an Indian is a matter of pride for every individual in India.

Frequently Asked Questions

1) Which is the New Union Territory of India?

Answer: Jammu & Kashmir and Ladakh are the two New Union Territories that came into effect on 31 October 2019.

2) Which is the Largest Union Territory of India?

Answer: Andaman and Nicobar is the Largest Union Territory in the country. The area that it covers is 8249 sq km.

3) Which is the Smallest Union Territory of India?

Answer: The Smallest Union Territory of India is Lakshadweep. It consists of 36 islands with an area of 32 sq km.

4) Which of the Indian Union Territories Has a Legislative Assembly?

Answer: The Indian Union Territories, which have a Legislative Assembly, are Delhi and Puducherry. Both have a Legislative Assembly and a council of ministers.

Also Read…

Freedom Fighters of India and Their Contributions

History of the Indian National Flag

Indus Valley Civilization

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Subscribe to our Newsletter